Marina & Howard Gerwing Scholarship 2017 – Will Piche

from Robin MacDowell

Patrick Kay and I ran a session back at our hometown high school at Cowichan Secondary School back in early January. At this practice we had the pleasure of meeting young Will Piche. Through strong ties with Tyler Leggatt he had reached out looking for quality athletes to bolster his Rogues Youth Men’s 7’s team travelling Las Vegas Festival later in March. Cowichan T-Bird Head Coach Ron Glass highly recommended to give young Will an opportunity stating that he is a wonderful talent and even better young man.Continue reading

New Contributing Member – Mark Wyatt

Mark WyattWe are pleased to announce Mark Wyatt as one of our Contributing Members. Mark represented Canada 29 times from 1982 to 1991 including two World Cups. He was inducted into the BC Rugby Sports Hall of Fame in 2007 and the BC Sports Hall of Fame in 2017.  Currently owner and C.E.O. of Capital City Fire and Brewis Electric and President of Westshore R.F.C. Mark now  runs up and down canyons with Claire for fun ‎and hits a long drive and a short putt.

New Brunswick Selects Tour – Bridge the Gap Fund

NB SelectsThe Bridge the Gap Fund was able to help the New Brunswick Selects women tour to Ireland through a contribution to their tour. As tour managers Troy and Kim Dixon wrote,  “The Bridging the Gap program provides a fantastic opportunity for young players to experience international travel, train and play in areas where rugby is a primary sport. In our case, allowed a group of young women to see our National athletes compete at the highest level. It also helped to provide a bigger fan base at the tournament to support our NSWT. On tour the girls were able to hold a training session at Blackrock College with Tony Smeeth, play 3 matches vs Athy, Connacht Development and Ulster Development and attended 2 days of World Cup matches. Thanks to Francois, they were able to meet with the members of our NSWT after the Wales match. It was fantastic tour for many reasons and we are beginning to plan for a 2019 tour.”

Letter to Canadian Rugby Foundation from NB Selects

Scholarships and Grants 2017

There were five scholarships awarded by the Canadian Rugby Foundation in 2017. More information on the scholarships and this year’s recipients can be accessed by clicking on the links below.

Thomas Family Scholarship

George Jones Scholarship

Courtenay Taafe Scholarship

There was one grant through the John Cannon Memorial Fund. More information on the John Cannon Fund and the recipient can be accessed by clicking the links below.

John Cannon Memorial Fund

Lyric Atchison – George Jones Scholarship 2017

Lyric comes from a multi-sport background that included soccer and wrestling but decided rugby was her passion. She captained the Carson Graham high school team to successive championships in 2016 and 2017. She also won the Premier’s Award for Aboriginal Youth Excellence in Sports and made the BC U18 team that traveled to Ireland. She’s continuing her studies at UBC and playing with  the UBC Thunderbirds rugby team. Continue reading